Her Excellency the Honourable Kate Warner AM, Governor of Tasmania

Tasmania’s 28th Governor, Her Excellency Professor the Honourable Kate Warner AC became Patron of the Homeward Bound leadership and strategic program in 2015.

Previously she was Professor, Faculty of Law, at the University of Tasmania and Director of the Tasmania Law Reform Institute. She had also in her career at the University held the positions of Dean, Faculty of Law, and Head of School. Following her appointment as Governor, she was made a professor emeritus.

On 26 January 2014 Her Excellency was appointed a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for her significant service to the law, particularly in the areas of law reform and education. On 26 January 2017 she was appointed a Companion of the Order of Australia (AC) for her eminent service to the people of Tasmania through leading contributions to the legal community, to law reform, to higher education as an academic, researcher and publisher and as a supporter of the arts and environmental and social justice initiatives.



Christiana Figueres, HB3 Elder

Christiana Figueres was the Executive Secretary of the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) 2010 – 2016. During her tenure at the UNFCCC, Christiana brought together national and sub-national governments, corporations and activists, financial institutions and NGOs to jointly deliver the historic Paris Agreement on climate change, in which 195 sovereign nations agreed on a collaborative path forward to limit future global warming to well below 2°C. For this achievement, she has been credited with forging a new brand of collaborative diplomacy and has received multiple awards.

Christiana is a founding partner of Global Optimism Ltd, a purpose-driven enterprise focused on social and environmental change. She is currently the Convenor of Mission 2020, Vice-Chair of the Global Covenant of Mayors for Climate and Energy, World Bank Climate Leader, ACCIONA Board Member, WRI Board Member, Fellow of Conservation International, and Advisory Board member of Formula E, Unilever and Eni S.p.A.

Musimbi Kanyoro, HB4 Elder 

Musimbi Kanyoro is a Kenyan human rights activist and the former President and CEO of the Global Fund for Women. As a national student leader working towards the abolition of apartheid in South Africa, serving on United Nations and other international youth forums, to becoming the first non-white woman to be appointed CEO of the World YWCA in 1998, Musimbi has advocated for girls’ and women’s health and rights.

Prior to joining GFW, Musimbi’s passion for philanthropy and technology as vehicles to drive social change saw her managing a $30m grant-making portfolio as Director for Population and Reproductive Health at David and Lucile Packard Foundation.

Musimbi has a PhD in Linguistics and a doctorate in Feminist Theology. In 2014, she was named one of the 21 women leaders for the 21st century by Women’s E-News. In 2015, Forbes Magazine named her one of 10 women ‘power brands’ working for gender equality. She serves on numerous boards, has done a TED talk with over a million views, and now follows Christiana Figueres as the second Homeward Bound ‘elder’, on HB4.

Robin Chase, HB5 Elder

Transportation entrepreneur Robin Chase is co-founder and former CEO of Zipcar, the largest car-sharing company in the world; Buzzcar, a peer-to-peer car-sharing service in France (now merged with Drivy); and GoLoco, an online ride-sharing community. She is also co-founder and Executive Chairman of Veniam, a vehicle communications company building the networking fabric for the Internet of Moving Things. Her recent book is Peers Inc: How People and Platforms are Inventing the Collaborative Economy and Reinventing Capitalism.

Robin is on the Boards of Veniam, the World Resources Institute, and Tucows. She lectures widely and has received many awards in the areas of innovation, design, and environment, including Time Magazine’s 100 Most Influential People, Fast Company’s Fast 50 Innovators, and BusinessWeek’s Top 10 Designers. Robin graduated from Wellesley College and MIT’s Sloan School of Management, was a Harvard University LOEB Fellow, and received an honorary Doctorate of Design from the Illinois Institute of Technology.


 Don't miss a moment: get sneak peeks from Antarctica, participant stories and more delivered first

You have Successfully Subscribed!